Practicing Mindful Media Literacy

As a sophomore in college I believe it is important to actively set my intentions towards a positive mindset with overall openness.  I have a strong passion for nutrition and health–two things that play a HUGE role in how we feel.  We all aspire to be healthy physically, emotionally, and mentally.  Because health relates to everyone, it is seen all over the media.

Many social platforms and media outlets today seem to focus on the surface level aspects of health.  These media outlets fail to highlight the health of our mind and body.  Instead, they focus on outwards appearance.  Using critical media-literacy skills is crucial when interpreting media, especially because we are constantly exposed to it.  To maintain a mindful outlook, I challenge myself to filter through what is presented to me.  I have learned, you can’t always believe the first thing you read.

As an avid healthy food blogger, I educate myself on various health trends and searching Pinterest for vegan foodie recipes. Feel free to check out my favorite recipe board here.  I love eating a whole foods, plant based diet because it makes me feel amazing both physically and mentally.  At the same time however, our culture is consumed by various fad diets and “quick fixes” that the media encourages.

Screen Shot 2015-09-07 at 2.36.42 PM  Screen Shot 2015-09-07 at 2.39.54 PM

In an effort to look skinny, many girls buy into these health trends.  The framing of these tweets or the choice of words, are implicitly directed towards the target audience (in this case, women).  It is important to question how different media and organizations may be bias.  In reality, commercial forces shape the content we see.  We must think critically and look into alternative perspectives.  In this case, we shouldn’t believe in quick fixes that the diet industry promotes.  Articles with the headings “Detox Diet”, “Flat Belly Diet”, or “Weight Loss” clutter the feeds of all my social media accounts.

Rather than focusing on appearance, I believe mental and physical health should be a priority.  I believe mental well-being is the basis for living a healthy lifestyle.

Lets dig into some more media and gain some perspective, shall we?

4 healthy daily habits Well + Good readers swear by

I love this article.  Not only does it promote healthy habits (hence the title) but it also provides opinions from readers.  As educated consumers, we know that the information has not been filtered through a larger organization.  The article is not some crazy scam but rather informs the readers on practical ways to enhance mental and physical health.  Bottom line, it is realistic.

SO, next time you read a health article, or any article, blog post, tweet, etc. make sure to take a step back and consider other perspectives.  Avoid being a passive reader and do not be afraid to question the information that is presented to you.

I guess I’ll leave off with this article about the 8 “best” foods to fuel your workout and give you energy.  But as a smart media consumer, be sure to not only take in the information but always think twice about it.

Screen Shot 2015-09-07 at 5.14.26 PM

Leave a comment